Tags

, , , ,

Blog Carnival of Mental Health

Note: if I got anyone’s pronouns wrong, please do not hesitate to let me know!

Greetings! This is Static Nonsense, hosting March’s Blog Carnival of Mental Health. The theme this month is relationships.

From Mental Fool, we have Relationships and Rejection (CBT 1), where she relays what happened during her CBT session about how she deals with rejection within her relationships with people.

I have a tendency to look up to certain people and idolize them to the extent that no one else matters and no one else’s opinion matters.  I do it with most of the people in my life, but there is usually that one person who stands above the rest and they are god.

From Astrid et al of A Multitude of Musings, we have DID, Trust and the Therapeutic Relationship, where Astrid talks about trust and DID affects her ability to develop professional relationships with therapists.

It took me more than half a year after that before one of my parts dared to ask to be allowed at front in therapy. She was, ironically, Jane, one of my most mistrusting parts. From then on, we all trusted the therapist enough to ask her if we could come forward.

From Sharon of After Gadget, we have Service Dog for Body and Mind: A New Skill, where she talks about how MCS, chronic Lyme and other tick-borne diseases impacted her mental health and her relationships with people and her service animal partners, and her journey in training her service animal partners for psychological comfort and support.

My saving grace was Gadget. He was always his same, normal, doggy self, and he didn’t seem bothered by my moods. When I was suicidal and had convinced myself that I was a burden to everyone, that they would be relieved if I died, I reminded myself that I was not a burden to Gadget, that he needed me as much as I needed him. I told myself that I had to stick around for him.

And then my own post, Kinky Disability: This Dangerous Line I Walk, where I talk about my journey in reclaiming sexual relationships through BDSM and how that’s been impacted by DID and sexual abuse and assault.

In my particular journey, I explored age regression and AB/DL in-depth because I could feel its connection to me at my core, though I didn’t know why. It gave me a reason to grow comfortable with this aspect of myself that I had been ignoring for so long, not even aware that it existed although it appeared for others that made me aware later.

Make sure to make note of upcoming carnival announcements! Looking forward to seeing next month’s!